Angel Beats Review

Angel Beats
Short Review:
I had tried this on two occasions. The first time I did, I was confused. Very confused indeed. A friend had mentioned it and I was like hell, I wanna see that. Though the first few minutes didn’t satisfy and in my youth I decided to give up. However, with much time on my hands, I got through the first episode and thought I’d give it a try. Warning! If you do not enjoy heart felt action packed awesomeness with the best ending ever, do not watch this anime. However, I would recommend it for anyone. Not only was the ending superb and the building friendships moving, the animation is incredible and I do not lie when I say it is a truly beautiful anime. I think that’s all I can say on this one. If ever an ending I cried at, it was this. I really wish there was more. Recommended!

Extension:
Basically, Angel Beats is set in the ‘realm’ we would know as ‘limbo’. If you don’t know what that means, it’s a place between life and death. In this ‘realm’ of sorts, dead children, usually high school age, are forced to overcome their attachments from the life they left behind. Only then can they move on. However, they can still feel worldly pains. The story follows Otonashi, a boy who lost his memories after dying. He is recruited by Yuri to join the Afterlife Battlefront, fighting against ‘God’. They also appear to have a personal enemy- Angel. A girl who appears to be just like one of the other npc type people in the world but can manipulate the Angel Player program- making it appear as if she is a higher supernatural being. This is proved to be wrong with the extremely emotional and heartfelt ending to the series.You have been warned: the feels are real!

Facts:
Aired: 3 April 2010 –26 June 2010
Runtime: 24 min approx. per episode
Length: 13 episodes
Age Rating: PG-13 (I think?)

~Shadow x

Leave a Reply

